Alf Prøysen

Standard

Mrs Pepperpot to the Rescue

Image from www.littlewhitecrow.co.uk

Title: Mrs Pepperpot to the Rescue and Other Stories Author: Alf Prøysen, Marianne Helweg Illustrator: Björn Berg Year: 1979 Publisher: Puffin Books (Penguin Books Ltd.) Binding: Paperback Condition: Good Jacket Condition: N/A
Description: “Mrs Pepperpot woke one morning to find herself no bigger than her kitchen pepperpot. After that, she never knew when it would happen again. All of a sudden she would shrink, and some time later – snap! – she was her right size again. This was often a nuisance for her, but it also meant she had some marvellous adventures, as you will see from these stories.”

Illustrated throughout with amusing b&w line drawings.

Covers negligibly creased. Light scuffing along extremities. Spine creased and lightly worn along edges. Pages tanned and sporadically foxed, but are otherwise unmarked and tightly bound. First few pages lightly creased from handling.

Measures 19.5 cm × 13 cm (7.8″ × 5.2″). Small 8vo. 122 pp.

http://www.littlewhitecrow.co.uk/381.php

This book was a favourite of mine when I was a child. My mum gave it to me, a book that she had kept from when she was younger. simultaneously, to that of Matilda, I was mostly fascinated with the illustration although I did thoroughly enjoy the story itself. As I write this post, I am starting to see a style pattern form within my own style interests. Alf Prøysen’s illustrations in this book share a similar sketchy style to posts ive made describing Quentin Blake and Tony Ross.  The book I have of ‘Mrs Pepperpot to the Rescue’ has had a tough time..it’s been torn and between my mum and I it has endured lots of scribble and writing inside the covers.

Poor Book

The pages are not as worn as the cover apart from the discolouration. I find the shaded illustration on the left very interesting as it shows me here that illustrations do not always have to show features. On the right one of my favourite illustrations from the book. The tiny Mrs Pepperpot peeking into the tea-cup I think is fun and creative imagination and I also like the comprehensive layout.

About bonny83

I am currently studying at Glyndwr University, North Wales School of Art and Design. Design Communication is the main subject body while also looking at a large variety of the many forms of Art. My main interest is illustration and I am considering illustration for children's books for the future. Art and Design has always been a huge part of my life and i am enjoying taking things further for a possible career.

4 responses »

  1. I had a Mrs Pepperpot book when I was younger too! I agree that the illustrations are similar to Michael Rosen’s and Quentin Blake’s; the sketchy style seems quite popular with these types of children’s books.

    • Im glad you have pointed out Michael Rosen, he is now on the list ‘to be blogged’ 🙂 I do really like the sketchy style with added water-colour. And it goes to show that old books and illustrations still shine through modern work of today 😀

      • Yeah, I think that some of the older illustrations in these types of books are reflected in some modern stuff though…I mean people like Dani Jones, the style isn’t the same but you can see the influence

Leave a Reply

