Project-Bearded Dragon

Standard

My latest project is renovating a Bearded Dragon enclosure. The owners have combined a tank and unit for a complete look, and they do look great together, but they would like the design that is already on the unit onto the tank enclosure aswell. I went to see what I will be working with to make an assessment and to see if this is something I could actually do.

The unit and tank together.

Taking a closer look

Assessments….

ok, so the unit has a glossy black finish which looks good but will need a few touch ups. I think the glossy finish can stay as it gives a clean and crisp look. The front of the tank has a black matt finish but I think that will have to go as I feel it is too much contrast and also think it will look good to give it a gloss look to match the unit. The owner discussed keeping the gold pattern and repeating it to the sides of the tank and would also like a bearded dragon design on the top. The gold floral design is actually what looks like a mixture of clear varnish or possibly glue, and gold glitter. This train of thought leads me to stencil work.

I have begun a study of Bearded dragon’s, to get to know them and learn their shape and so have made a few sketches.

 Creating a replica stencil to repeat the original floral pattern should be easy enough, and for the Bearded Dragon, I think I will try scanning some illustrations, then scan them for Photoshop and possibly find a way of inverting the illustration or use photo shop filters so that when printed, it should work as a stencil by cutting selected areas out.

About bonny83

I am currently studying at Glyndwr University, North Wales School of Art and Design. Design Communication is the main subject body while also looking at a large variety of the many forms of Art. My main interest is illustration and I am considering illustration for children's books for the future. Art and Design has always been a huge part of my life and i am enjoying taking things further for a possible career.

2 responses »

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

    • Hi April, I don’t pay for this blog, it is free, I’m sure all you need to do is go direct to the wordpress start page and sign up, feel free to ask if you need any further help x

Leave a Reply

