5 dots……

Standard

Before I passed my Driving test I had to travel to Uni on the bus, The journey could take anything from 2hours upwards depending on a whole range of reason for time delays, but i felt stressed sometimes and bored. After generally moaning about that fact to my tutor Dan Berry, he suggested that I should use that time to draw, and one idea he gave to me was the ‘5 dots’. Dan uses the 5 dots to take up time himself, basically what you do is draw 5 random dots onto a piece of paper, or anything that you could generally draw on, and select the dots for either a head, both hands and both feet. After doing that, you need to try and figure out how the legs and arms would be situated to illustrate a persons full body.

I had a go at this and this is what I came up with…..

img177

After a few attempts I began to see a little character form, so I gave him the same clothes but still yet to name him…

img178 img179 img180 img181

To me, the character looked like he was doing specific things, for example, ice skating so I would add the skates and so on.

About bonny83

I am currently studying at Glyndwr University, North Wales School of Art and Design. Design Communication is the main subject body while also looking at a large variety of the many forms of Art. My main interest is illustration and I am considering illustration for children's books for the future. Art and Design has always been a huge part of my life and i am enjoying taking things further for a possible career.

Leave a Reply

