ARD502 The Message, Animal Facts

Standard

For this brief, we were given a list of animal facts and required to illustrate the statement that we picked from list. I chose ‘All wild swans in England are the property of the Queen, who has an official Swan keeper’. I had a look through the list of Facts and this one stood out the most for me as I was interested in the shapes of Swans to illustrate. Looking back over the brief I can see I took a huge learning curve into the world of illustration, it was like the beginning for me and when I look over the past few briefs I can see I have improved greatly, but for this particular brief I am not very happy with the end result but happy with what I have learned along the way, for example, ‘negative space’ of an illustration. The negative space is the areas of blank space which haven’t been illustrated but just because that part hasn’t been illustrated that does not mean it doesn’t have to be interesting….I can make it interesting by making my illustrative lines interesting to look at so the lines of the illustration are just as important as the final piece as a whole image.

img112 img113 img137 img118 Denbighshire-20121108-03312 swan done swan final grey

As I am still unsure of my style I tend to chose different working methods for different briefs, and in this particular brief I had chosen to used mixed media and scanned textures. This kind of style was fun to work with but I don’t think it is my style, I am not saying I couldn’t actually work with it and progress but still not my actual style.  would like to go over this brief in the future maybe to see what else I could do with it.

About bonny83

I am currently studying at Glyndwr University, North Wales School of Art and Design. Design Communication is the main subject body while also looking at a large variety of the many forms of Art. My main interest is illustration and I am considering illustration for children's books for the future. Art and Design has always been a huge part of my life and i am enjoying taking things further for a possible career.

Leave a Reply

