Mrs Pepperpot to the Rescue..Re-illustrated

Standard

Narrowing down my illustrations to the children’s sector, I have been looking at Mrs Pepperpot to the Rescue by Alf Proysen.

I thought that this would be an interesting book to illustrate as not only was it one of my childhood favorites, but there has not been a lot of illustrations based on this book and therefore I felt that there was less influence to my ideas.

After reading through the book one more time, I had decided which parts of the stories I would like to try and illustrate.

img274 img278 page practice 4

The above illustrations show the progress of planning my drawing, looking at water color and tone and using Photoshop to place the illustration example into the book itself to see how it would look.

img273 img277shrunk

Character development, this was my favorite illustration to work with from this subject. I really enjoyed finding and applying the reference to create the character (George) and trying to figure out how to add a dragon into the picture without drawing the obvious and using the dragons shadow for shape and negative space.

practice smaller

The roughly, not so finished cover I have been working on, still trying to establish, plan and prioritize what really needs to be in the illustration, how to make it inviting to draw the eye in.

Leave a Reply

