Kiminspire-Kim Project

Standard

Many moons ago, I wasn’t the strongest woman in the world, I was very shy, had very little confidence and practically zero self-esteem. You could say that I was a frightened little creature that hid away from the big wide world!! It was a difficult life, living with my insecurities but behind them I had some good qualities that I didn’t feel I could embrace and therefore I threw myself into my local women’s center, Rhyl north wales, for help and guidance. At the center, I was offered many courses such as a confidence course, assertive class and an endless list of classes including things as basic as cooking, walking, social groups to more functional classes like access to university and much, much more. I took a confidence class, the assertive one and also at the time a digital media class. In the mean time i read books to help with confidence, and understanding depression and anxiety and pretty much anything within that kind of spectrum. I didn’t know what exactly I was aiming for, just that there was  tiny amount of drive and ambition hidden away behind my insecurities. I picked up a few quotes on my journey, one being..“If you don’t know where you are going..then any road will take you there…”. Now, looking back, I can see the truth in this quote. At that time of my life, I really didn’t know where I was going, but rather than sitting still I kept moving and as a result, the choices I made then have contributed to where I am today. The courses I had taken and books that I read have changed my outlook on life, changed the way I think and also, I didn’t know that the digital media course was an access to university course!! So when I had completed the course, and was offered a place and interview at Glyndwr University, I was in absolute shock! Still, that was another barrier to cross and I still had a way to go with my self belief that I was good enough to go to university but that’s another story!

Going to university has not only taught me about the illustration that I am studying, but a lot about life and people and learning, always learning! And opportunities, new doors and possibilities. trailing off, some months ago, my next door neighbor, Annie Donovan, operations Manager at KIM Kindness in Mind, asked me if I would like to facilitate an art class for KIM, the women’s project group. I was again in shock to have been offered such a opportunity, and as somebody who has come quite far in life from needing the help and support of a women’s center just like KIM, I jumped at the chance! I felt comfort in the fact that I myself have been given the opportunity to help other women like myself.

kiminspire

When conducting the art classes, I have a lot to think about, I try to ensure the class will be suitable for every woman in turn but also relaxing and enjoyable. My aim isn’t even to teach them at this point in time but to help them relax, enjoy themselves and feel good about what they have created.

Next week I will be facilitating a class at the project in mold, north Wales and I have been thinking about a basic charcoal drawing class. The goal is not to see who can draw the best, but just to enjoy the connection that charcoal makes with the paper, some of the women may express themselves through the drawing but the aim is mainly to enjoy just making a mark and having fun. I am really excited about taking the class and look forward to many more to come!!

The centers

I would like to take a minute to say that if you feel that would you benefit from any of the centers, do not hesitate to contact them. They are there for your benefit, they are there to help!! Also, these centers cover a whole lot more than I have described here, I have only mentioned what areas have been beneficial to me.

NWWC

KIM

Leave a Reply

